Cricket Tasmania announces National Indigenous Cricket Championship squad for 2024

Cricket Tasmania is proud to announce Tasmania's National Indigenous Cricket Championship (NICC) squad for the upcoming national carnival in Alice Springs at the end of February. 

Tasmania has a long and rich history in competing in this tournament, and Cricket Tasmania is excited to be able to provide cultural and cricket experiences to the Tasmanian squad who are participating in this year's competition. 

The squad's cultural advisor, Guy Grey has been supporting Cricket Tasmania to help connect players and staff to palawa culture. 

Grey discussed his passion for this championship, "We are excited to continue our connection with the program both culturally and through cricket. 

"This experience will give our players the opportunity to proudly represent both their families and lutruwita on the National stage, something that as a team we are extremely proud of."

Cricket Tasmania have also began developing a female indigenous program, which has provided Tayla Wigg with the opportunity to represent Tasmania whilst playing for Victoria during the championship. 

General Manager of Community Cricket at Cricket Tasmania, Alex King discussed his pride in seeing Wigg being able to represent Tasmania. "This season we have embarked in the first stage of developing a female program and to have Tayla Wigg represent the state whilst playing Victoria is great, we hope to expand on this in the future off the back of strong female growth in cricket across the state."

King, who is also the Head Coach of this year's squad, is looking forward to the enriching experience of being a part of this tournament. "We have such a strong history and connection with both the Impaja Cup and the National Indigenous Cricket Championship, and we are again excited to participate in such a remarkable cultural and cricket experience." 

The squad leaves for Alice Springs on 21 February before competing against the other states around Australia in T20 matches, followed by a top four finals series. 

The Tasmanian squad consists of:

Toby Bellchambers - Devonport Cricket Club 
Brodie Deverell - Wilmot Cricket Club
Kayden Deverell - Wilmot Cricket Club 
Brayden Devries - Greater Northern Raiders
Johnty Devries - Penguin Cricket Club
Rhys French - Ulverstone Cricket Club
Jacob Goodsell - Lindisfarne Cricket Club
Toby Hutton - Ulverstone Cricket Club
Brandon Kopper - Glenorchy Cricket Club
Ben Spinks - Greater Northern Raiders
Lachlan Nichols - Lindisfarne Cricket Club
Jack Pearce - Ulverstone Cricket Club
Ben Spinks - Greater Northern Raiders 
Trent Steven - Devonport Cricket Club

Coaches: Alex King and Will Thompson 
Cultural Advisor: Guy Grey 
Tasmanian Umpire Representative: Scott Pearce

Tayla Wigg - South Hobart Sandy Bay CC (Representing Tasmania playing for Victoria)

Further information will be communicated by Cricket Australia in the coming weeks around how to watch and follow the NICC. Be sure to download the Play Cricket App to be able to follow the team live!

Major Partners

Other Partners