Australian squad named for Commonwealth Bank Tour of New Zealand

The squad is:

Meg Lanning (Victoria, captain)
Rachael Haynes (New South Wales, vice-captain)
Darcie Brown (South Australia)
Nicola Carey (Tasmania)
Hannah Darlington (New South Wales)
Ashleigh Gardner (New South Wales)
Alyssa Healy (New South Wales)
Jess Jonassen (Queensland)
Tahlia McGrath (South Australia)
Sophie Molineux (Victoria)
Beth Mooney (Queensland)
Ellyse Perry (Victoria)
Megan Schutt (South Australia)
Annabel Sutherland (Victoria)
Belinda Vakarewa (Tasmania)
Tayla Vlaeminck (Victoria)
Georgia Wareham (Victoria)

Australia will take on New Zealand in three Twenty20 Internationals from March 28, before the coveted Rose Bowl Trophy goes on the line in three One-Day Internationals from April 4.

Darcie Brown and Hannah Darlington have been selected in the Australian squad for the first time, while Tayla Vlaeminck returns after making a strong comeback from injury in the Women’s National Cricket League.

Ryan Harris has been appointed bowling coach for the tour.

Commenting on the squad, National Selector Shawn Flegler said:

“We’re excited to announce this 17-player squad for the Commonwealth Bank Tour of New Zealand after a long break from national commitments for our playing group.

“Since the completion of our home series against New Zealand in October, the players have completed a full rebel WBBL|06 campaign, followed by a period of rest and recovery before reconvening for the beginning of the WNCL campaign.

“Throughout that period the likes of Darcie Brown and Hannah Darlington have impressed us with their skill and professionalism, and we are delighted to reward them with selection in this squad.

“Darcie enjoyed an excellent rebel WBBL campaign with the Adelaide Strikers and has also made a great start to the WNCL with the SA Scorpions. Her ability to bowl fast outswing makes her an exciting prospect at just 17 years old.

“We also welcome Hannah Darlington into the squad after playing a crucial part in the Sydney Thunder’s rebel WBBL|06 championship. She has been brought into the squad primarily with a T20 focus as we look towards both the 2022 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham and 2023 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa.

“These new additions are complemented by the return of Tayla Vlaeminck to the national squad after a long injury layoff. She has been working her way back to full fitness in the WNCL with Victoria and we’ve already seen some devastating spells from her.

“Similarly, Ellyse Perry has been making solid progress in her return from a hamstring injury and we look forward to her taking part in this series after not featuring against New Zealand in September and October.”

The tour is once again proudly presented by Commonwealth Bank, continuing their longstanding support of the women’s game, at all levels in Australia. 

Major Partners

Other Partners