Cricket network logo
Hobart Hurricanes logo Hobart Hurricanes logo Team Logo Team Logo


The venue is nestled on the eastern shores of the Derwent River, a mere ten minute drive from Hobart’s CBD, and is the first-class cricket headquarters for Cricket Tasmania.

The venue consists of the new Ricky Ponting Stand (Western Stand), the David Boon Stand (formerly known as the Southern Stand) and the Members Pavilion. 

There is also one smaller stand and a traditional hill on the eastern boundary which collectively contribute to a capacity crowd of 19,500. The dimensions of the playing surface are 175m x 135m – slightly longer but somewhat narrower than the MCG.

Turf wickets were first laid at Bellerive in 1957; since (1986) the arena has undergone a significant enhancement with the removal of a noticeable camber and leveling of the oval.

The ten-strip centre wicket area consists of couch grass, which has been successfully propagated in the colder southern climate, and English rye in the perimeter pitches.

Traditionally the wicket has provided bowlers with early movement, but the pitch tends to become a batting paradise as the match progresses, and the ground is influenced by afternoon sea-breezes off the Derwent River. Tasmania’s first Test, between Australia and Sri Lanka, was played here in 1989.