Cricket Tasmania has today announced the clubs that will form the CTPL Women’s 1st Grade Competition that is due to commence on Sunday the 4th of October.

It is confirmed that the Clarence District Cricket Club, New Town Cricket Club and North Hobart Cricket Club will join the Greater Northern Raiders in the revamped CTPL Women’s 1st Grade competition for the 2020/21 season.

With the previous competition being in place for the past 10 years, a review of the league was undertaken by Kristen Beams with the recommendation being made to maintain the existing competition as second grade and introducing a new four-team CTPL Women’s 1st Grade Competition.

It was pre-determined that the Greater Northern Raiders would form a part of the new 1st Grade Competition, following their inaugural season in 2019/20, to ensure that a suitable pathway remained in place for talented cricketers in the North and North-West of Tasmania.

The nine southern-based clubs were invited to apply for the remaining three 1st Grade positions.

Five applications were received, with Kingborough District Cricket Club and University of Tasmania Cricket Club being the two clubs whose applications were unsuccessful.

The applicants were required to present their case through a submission to a five-person panel including representatives from Australian Cricket, the Cricket Tasmania Board and the Premier League Committee.

Following the presentations and review of the information provided, the panel unanimously recommended Clarence, New Town and North Hobart be approved to participate in the 1st Grade competition.

Panel member Nathan Magill, Cricket Australia’s National Premier Cricket Development Manager, noted the quality of all submissions.

“All five clubs were committed and passionate about supporting Women’s cricket. They should be commended for what they presented and the effort that they put into their applications” he said.

“Whilst Kingborough and University were unsuccessful in securing a position in 1st Grade; the panel is confident with Kingborough and University fielding teams in the 2nd Grade competition, it will ensure that the standard of the 2nd Grade competition also continues to improve.”

The 2nd Grade competition will be contested by Kingborough, University, Clarence, Glenorchy, Lindisfarne, New Town, North Hobart and South Hobart Sandy Bay, giving evidencing of a strong desire among premier clubs to continue the development of the Women’s game.

Brighton District Cricket Club will also look to continue the development of their Female cricket program in the Kookaburra Southern Cricket Association Women’s competition.