Celebrating the event at Blundstone Arena, Bellerive, Wells topped the count on 21 votes, finishing four votes in front of South Hobart Sandy Bay’s all-rounder Hamish Kingston on 17 votes and Glenorchy’s Henry Terry, who finished on 15 votes.

It was a stellar season for the top order batsmen, amassing 752 runs at an average of 72.20, as well as taking 8 wickets at 14.50.

After finishing runner up in 2012/13 and 2010/11, third in 2011/12 and fourth in 2009/10, it was a fitting recognition for Wells following seasons’ of consistent performances.

By Round 12, Hamish Kingston led the field with 16 votes, followed by Henry Terry on 15 votes and Wells on 10 votes.

Wells then went on a rampage, polling 11 votes in the final 7 Rounds, including three Man of the Match performances against New Town, Glenorchy and Kingborough respectively.

Wells said it was an honour to receive this special award however he stated he is still ‘gutted’ from the semi-final loss to Glenorchy.

North Hobart captain, Belinda Page won her first Kim Fazackerley Medal, finishing the season with 13 votes. Page narrowly edged out Glenorchy’s Anita Silva who finished on 12 votes, with twin sister Amanda, fellow team-mate Hannah Short and South Hobart Sandy Bay’s Naomi Lynch one further vote back on 11 votes.

Page chalked up 288 runs, at an average of 36.00 and also took 8 wickets at 19.75 to lead the Demons to their second CTPL women’s premiership.

Glenorchy’s Pravish Prakash capped off a brilliant year with the ball, winning the Allan Newman Trophy in Second Grade, finishing on 27 votes, seven votes in front of runner up, Lindisfarne’s Daniel Chapman on 20 votes and South Hobart Sandy Bay’s Zac Bury on 17 votes.

Prakash also took home the Second Grade bowling average and aggregate, taking 32 wickets at 10.72. The bowling aggregate award was also awarded to Kingborough’s Matthew Bigwood who also took 32 wickets.

New Town’s Damian Colefax took out the Allan Newman Medal for Third Grade, finishing on 26 votes, five votes in front of Kingborough’s Bradley Grimsey and Lindisfarne’s Stuart Steele, who finished equal second on 21 votes.

Dylan Hay was voted the winner of the Allan Newman Trophy for the Under 17’s with 36 votes.

The Kingborough all-rounder finished two clear from Lindisfarne’s Keegan Oates.

Kingborough’s Toby Cowen was awarded the Allan Newman Medal for the Under 15’s with 37 votes, 12 votes ahead of North Hobart’s William Smith

Cowen’s stellar season was also recognised by taking out all the Under 15 batting and bowling awards.

All Allan Newman Trophies were awarded by the Tasmanian Cricket Umpires and Scorers Association (TCUSA) President, Ross Carlson.

Four individuals were recognised for their services to Cricket through the Chairman’s Award for Merit

Don Heapy was recognised for his services to Umpiring, with more than 600 games to his name. Heapy began Umpiring in the mid 1970’s and during this time, Heapy was selected as a member of the State Umpires Panel, to support both Sheffield Shield, Tour and Interstate One-Day Games.

Sally Bennett was recognised for her service with the New Town Cricket Club. Bennett has been a tireless worker in recent seasons in the area of female cricket, and has assisted in the development of outstanding junior program.

John French was recognised for his services to the Kingborough Cricket Club. French has been an outstanding leader for cricket in the Kingborough region.

Simon Stebbings was awarded for his services to the Glenorchy Cricket Club and the Cricket Tasmania Premier League Committee. Stebbeings has been the driving force of numerous improvements at Glenorchy in recent years, both on and off the field.

Trophy Winners

Emerson Rodwell Medal: Jon Wells – 21 Votes (Clarence)

First Grade Batting Averages: Steven Cazzulino (Lindisfarne) 405 runs @ 101.25

First Grade Batting Aggregate: Jon Wells (Clarence) 752 runs    

First Grade Bowling Averages: Clive Rose (Kingborough) 23 wickets @ 12.43     

First Grade Bowling Aggregate: Anthony Marr (Lindisfarne) 38 wickets

Wicket Keeping Award: Peter Rasmussen (North Hobart) 38 dismissals

Kim Fazackerly Medal: Belinda Page – 13 Votes (North Hobart)

Women’s Grade Batting Average: Lauren Hepburn (New Town) 232 runs @ 58.00                 

Women’s Grade Batting Aggregate: Naomi Lynch (South Hobart Sandy Bay) 311 runs

Women’s Grade Bowling Average:Amanda Silva (Glenorchy) 10 wickets @ 10.60

Women’s Grade Bowling Aggregate:     Amanda Silva (Glenorchy), Leesa Walker (Clarence),  Lisa Astell (South Hobart Sandy Bay) and Beth Schiwy (South Hobart Sandy Bay) 10 wickets

Allan Newman Award: Pravish Prakash – 27 Votes (Glenorchy)

Second Grade Batting Averages: Ben Kanizay (Clarence) 285 runs @ 57.00

Second Grade Batting Aggregate: Tim Cannon (South Hobart Sandy Bay) 439 runs

Second Grade Bowling Averages: Pravish Prakash (Glenorchy) 32 wickets @ 10.72

Second Grade Bowling Aggregate: Pravish Prakash (Glenorchy) and Matthew Bigwood (Kingborough) 32 wickets

Allan Newman Award: Damian Colfax- 26 Votes (New Town Cricket Club

Third Grade Batting Averages: Liam Johnston (South Hobart Sandy Bay) 263 runs @ 65.75

Third Grade Batting Aggregate: Stuart Steele (Lindisfarne) 477 runs

Third Grade Bowling Averages: Damian Colefax (New Town) 34 wickets @ 11.12

Third Grade Bowling Aggregate: Damian Colefax (New Town) 34 wickets

Allan Newman Award: Dylan Hay (Kingborough) – 36 Votes

U/17’s Batting Averages: Samuel Leon (North Hobart) 448 runs @ 56.00

U/17’s Batting Aggregate: Ned Absolom (Clarence) 557 runs

U/17’s Bowling Averages: Nathan Percey (Glenorchy) 27 wickets @ 10.56

U/17’s Bowling Aggregate: Nathan Percey (Glenorchy) 27 wickets

Allan Newman Award: Toby Cowan (Kingborough) -37 Votes

U/15’s Batting Averages: Toby Cowen (Kingborough) 519 runs @ 64.88

U/15’s   Batting Aggregate: Toby Cowen (Kingborough) 519 runs

U/15’s Bowling Averages: Toby Cowen (Kingborough) 23 wickets @ 7.00

U/15’s Bowling Aggregate: Toby Cowen (Kingborough) 23 wickets


Allan Newman Award (Multi Grade): Dylan Hay

Curators Award: Jamie Grace (ANZAC Park, Lindisfarne)

Chairman’s Award for Merit

Don Heapy                    Services to Umpiring

Simon Stebbings            Services to Glenorchy Cricket Club

John French                   Services to Kingborough Cricket Club

Sally Bennett                  Services to New Town Cricket Club – Female Cricket

CTPL Team of the Year (Male)

Jon Wells (Clarence) - Captain, Steve Cazzulino (Lindisfarne), Henry Terry (Glenorchy), Beau Webster (Kingborough), Aiden Blizzard (Lindisfarne), Michael Jones (Clarence), Harry Allanby (Clarence), Hamish Kingston (SHSB), Anthony Marr (Lindisfarne), Timm van der Gugten (SHSB) Josh Bean (University)


Tim Scott (Kingborough)


Michael Graham-Smith

Jamie Mitchell


CTPL Team of the Year (Female)

Naomi Lynch (SHSB) – Captain, Hannah Short (North Hobart), Belinda Page (North Hobart), Lauren Hepburn (New Town), Kristy Coppleman (Kingborough), Katie Cole (Clarence), Paris Crowe (New Town), Anita Silva (Glenorchy), Amanda Silva (Glenorchy), Lisa Astell (SHSB) Leesa Walker (Clarence)                    


Mark Divin (Kingborough)