The Tasmanian Tigers Men's & Women's teams may have narrowly missed out on featuring in their respective Sheffield Shield and WNCL Finals, though each have been recognised by Cricket Australia with their State Cricket Awards announced today.

Each side has been awarded the Richie Benaud Spirit of Cricket Award, which are awarded each season to the interstate men’s and women’s teams who are voted as having played in the best spirit and with the greatest respect for the game.

It is the third time in the last four seasons our Tigers Men have won this award - encompassing umpire votes from both the JLT Sheffield Shield and JLT One-Day Cup, and the second time in the last three seasons our Tigers Women have been rewarded, based on umpire votes from the Women's National Cricket League.

Following the WNCL Final between NSW and Queensland back in February, Tasmania wicket-keeper/batter Georgia Redmayne was named WNCL Player of the Year, capping off an impressive 12 months for the 25-year-old after she was named the Betty Wilson Young Cricketer of the Year last summer. 

Redmayne compiled 275 runs, including three half-centuries, at an average of 45.83, while also claiming seven catches and completing four stumpings, the most dismissals of any wicket-keeper this season.

Tasmania Captain, Matthew Wade (14 votes) finished equal-second in the voting for Sheffield Shield Player of the Year, behind Victorian fast-bowler Scott Boland (15 votes).

Wade finished level in the voting with Boland's Victorian teammates, Nic Maddinson and Marcus Harris.

Cricket Australia’s Interim Executive General Manager - Team Performance, Belinda Clark, said:
“Georgia also had an excellent year at domestic level for Tasmania, both opening the batting and behind the stumps.
“Tasmania showed significant improvement in the Women’s National Cricket League this season narrowly missing out on a finals berth, and Georgia had a lot to do with that success.
2018-19 State Cricket Award winners

Sheffield Shield Player of the Year: Scott Boland (VIC)
WNCL Player of the Year: Georgia Redmayne (TAS)
Men’s Spirit of Cricket Award: Tasmania
Women’s Spirit of Cricket Award: Tasmania

CA Umpire Award: Paul Wilson
Taverners Australia Indigenous Cricketer of the Year: Scott Boland (VIC)