Cricket Tasmania releases the following squad of 13 for the JLT Sheffield Shield clash with Victoria beginning on Tuesday 5 March at the Junction Oval in Melbourne.

There are two changes to the squad which beat South Australia in Adelaide on a miraculous final day earlier this week.

Jackson Bird will play in his 50th First-Class match for Tasmania if he's selected in the final XI.

Australian Test captain, Tim Paine, is rested to manage his soreness following a long summer of red ball cricket, Alex Pyecroft is omitted.

Left-arm quick, Sam Rainbird, returns to the 13 alongside uncapped young batsman, Sean Willis.

"Tim (Paine) is still getting over a really long summer, both physically and mentally, and he just wasn't moving quite right in Adelaide," said Tigers Head Coach, Adam Griffith.

"It's more of a management thing rather than a major injury, we always planned to give him a break at some stage."

"With four and hopefully five (including the Final) Shield matches in a short space of time, we want to ensure we're playing our best cricket at the right time of the season."

"That's why we have a deep squad, we assume he'll only be missing this game."

Griffith praised Rainbird's return from the BBL with the Sydney Thunder to earn his spot back in the Tigers squad, having been a key cog in the side's run to the Final last season.

"I was really impressed with how he came back from the Big Bash, that was a big test for him to see how he would manage it. Obviously we put some things in place for him to do but at the end of the day it's up to the player.

"He returned in excellent physical shape and he's taken wickets in the Futures League matches by bowling in good areas and swinging the ball.

The squad of 13 is as follows:

Matthew Wade (C)
Gabe Bell
Jackson Bird
Alex Doolan
Jake Doran
Jarrod Freeman
Ben McDermott
Riley Meredith
Sam Rainbird
Tom Rogers
Jordan Silk
Charlie Wakim
Sean Willis

Head Coach: Adam Griffith
Senior Assistant Coach: Jeff Vaughan
Assistant Coach: Ben Rohrer

The match begins at 10:30am AEDT from Tuesday 5 - Friday 8 March and will be on livestream on