Highly respected cricket veteran and captain GEORGE BAILEY is Cricket Tasmania’s Season 2017/18 Ricky Ponting Medallist as Player of the Year.

It was a fitting and extremely popular tribute to the Tasmanian Tigers and Hobart Hurricanes BBL skipper who polled the most votes, piloting his men’s squads from long-time cellar dwellers to end-of-season grand finalists in both formats of the game.

It’s the first time Bailey has actually won this prestigious club award in over a decade of playing for Cricket Tasmania, and follows his Men's Domestic Player of the Year Award at February’s Cricket Australia Dinner.

The 35-year-old batsman from Launceston with five Tests, 90 One Day Internationals, 30 T20 Internationals, 150 First Class Matches, 261 List A Games and 184 T20 clashes to his name – who debuted in the 2001/02 Season – also took home the Jack Simmons Medal for his performances in the JLT One Day Cup.

In other major awards, the David Boon Medal for best JLT Sheffield Shield season went to 21-year-old ‘run machine’ JAKE DORAN who actually faced the most deliveries of any player during the Shield season scoring 97, 95 and three other fifty plus innings.

The Tasmanian Roar Player of the Tournament from the Women’s National Cricket League went to wicket-keeper batter GEORGIA REDMAYNE who also won Cricket Australia’s Betty Wilson Young Cricketer of the Year Award earlier in 2018.

From the other women’s team, the Hobart Hurricanes WBBL Player of the Tournament went to West Indian superstar all-rounder HAYLEY MATTHEWS for her standout season with bat and ball during a difficult time for the squad.

For the men, there could only be one winner for the Hobart Hurricanes BBL Player of the Tournament in D’ARCY SHORT.

He was also the overall BBL07 Player of the Tournament with his record highest innings of 122* against Brisbane as part of his record highest tournament runs tally of 572 including the most sixes.

The Young Player of the Year Awards are given to the female and male player who are Cricket Tasmania’s best 'Rising Stars' who enjoyed an outstanding debut season.

This year the highest voted ‘up-and-comers’ were ERIN FAZACKERLEY as Female Young Player of the Year, while the Jamie Cox Male Young Player of the Year Award went to TOM ROGERS.

Cricket Tasmania Chairman Andrew Gaggin presented his annual Chairman’s Award to opener JORDAN SILK for his brilliant batting season and growing seniority within the team.

The cherished Scott Mason Memorial Captain’s Award was presented by George Bailey to well deserved joint winners this season in young batting superstar JAKE DORAN and destructive all-rounder TOM ROGERS.

Tasmania has been involved in the National Indigenous Cricket Championships, previously known as the Imparja Cup, for 18 years.

As part of this proud association, Cricket Tasmania announced its NICC Player of the Year was RHYS WARD, with his award presented by former NICC player Guy Grey.

Hurricanes Members are provided with an opportunity to vote for their Most Valuable Player from both the WBBL and BBL squads as well.

This time around, BROOKE HEPBURN took out the members’ choice for favourite female player while JOFRA ARCHER was easily the favourite male player.

Winner of the State Umpire of the Year went to repeat winner SAM NOGAJSKI.

The occasion was also an opportunity to recognise Cricket Tasmania’s many young male and female debutants throughout the season:

2017/18 Cricket Tasmania Debutants

Three Tasmanian Roar Debutants:
Stefanie Daffara – cap number 31
Courtney Webb – cap number 32
Erin Fazackerley – cap number 33

Six Tasmanian Tigers Debutants:
Matthew Wade – First Class cap number 190
Tom Rogers – First Class cap number 191 & One Day cap number 216
Riley Meredith – First Class cap number 192 & One Day cap number 215
Jarrod Freeman – First Class cap number 193
Charlie Wakim – One Day cap number 214
Nicholas Buchanan – One Day cap number 217

Five Hobart Hurricanes WBBL Debutants:
Stefanie Daffara, Erin Fazackerley, Nicola Hancock, Veda Krishnamurthy and Lauren Winfield.

Eight Hobart Hurricanes BBL Debutants:
Jofra Archer, Alex Doolan, Riley Meredith, Tymal Mills, Nathan Reardon, Tom Rogers, Aaron Summers and Matthew Wade.

At the other end of the scale, the evening was also a chance to farewell retiring Tasmanian Roar player EMILY DIVIN.

The born and bred Hobartian debuted for the Roar in December 2012 and the right-hand batter and right-arm medium bowler couldn’t be prouder to have represented her State on ten occasions.

Emily occupies a unique position within the Australian cricket landscape, being the only mother on a 2017/18 State cricket contract, where Emily combined being a semi-professional athlete with the full-time job of being a mother.

Retirement for Emily was a difficult decision to make, but ultimately the right one for her and her family but she will continue to play Premier Cricket in Tasmania.

In fact, Emily recently captained Kingborough to victory in the Cricket Tasmania Premier League Women’s 2017/18 Grand Final against South Hobart Sandy Bay.

One shock announcement on the night itself was the departure of 32-year-old Tigers quick ANDREW 'FIREBALLS' FEKETE, who is returning back to his home State of Victoria for career and family reasons away from cricket.

The highly talented fast bowler ripped through the Victorian Bushrangers batting order during the final 2017/18 home game, taking 6/67 in the first innings then 4/43 in the second innings, to record career-best Shield figures.

'Fek' has been with Tasmania since 2013 after debuting for Victoria back in 2012, and we wish him all the very best with sincere thanks for five years of service.

Cricket Tasmania is indebted to all sections of the media for their work promoting the game at all levels and acknowledges their efforts with three Media Awards.

Best Story, Male Cricket went to Brent Costelloe, WIN NEWS TAS for his BBL|07 Final coverage: Supporting the Hurricanes.

Best Story, Female Cricket went to Alex Fair for his full back-page article in The Advocate titled: Hurricanes Forecast: Cricket Tas Chief wants WBBL side to play on the (North-West) Coast.

The final Media Award for Best Photograph was given to Mathew Farrell for his Official Watch Party image published in The Mercury which shows Jenny Menzie of Claremont getting behind the Hurricanes while watching via the big screen on the Wrest Point lawns.

Cricket Tasmania’s Awards Night was held at Wrest Point - Hobart to acknowledge the outstanding performances of the men and women who represented Tasmania and the Hobart Hurricanes across Summer.

Roar Player of the Tournament: Women’s National Cricket League – Top 4 Votes:
Georgia Redmayne – 124
Isobel Joyce – 122
Erin Fazackerley – 110
Laura Wright – 85

Jack Simmons Medal: JLT One Day Cup – Top 4 Votes:
George Bailey – 149
Cameron Boyce – 103
Jordan Silk – 79
Andrew Fekete – 62

Hobart Hurricanes WBBL – Top 4 Votes:
Hayley Matthews – 352
Veronica Pyke – 221
Georgia Redmayne – 195
Nicola Hancock – 182

Hobart Hurricanes BBL – Top 4 Votes:
D’Arcy Short – 280
Jofra Archer – 201
Dan Christian – 190
Ben McDermott – 127

David Boon Medal: JLT Sheffield Shield – Top 4 Votes:
Jake Doran – 197
Jackson Bird – 185
Tom Rogers – 140
Matthew Wade – 140

Ricky Ponting Medal: Player of the Year – Top 4 Votes:
George Bailey – 223
Jake Doran – 197
Jackson Bird – 194
Jordan Silk – 179

BIG congratulations to all our winners...