Although making the final is now unfortunately out of the question for the Tasmanian Tigers, there is still a lot to play for at the WACA.  It was a drawn match the last time the two teams met back in Adelaide in November, and both sides will be wanting to finish off the season with an affirmative result.

Captain Matthew Wade (83 and 57*) and Ben McDermott (90 and 28*) did the damage for the bat with the Tigers in their last encounter with the West Australians, however the visiting side will have to do without McDermott this time around, who is still sidelined with the hamstring injury he picked up whilst on tour with the Australian T20I team, and then aggravated further in Tasmania’s Marsh One-Day Cup clash with New South Wales.

Nathan Ellis – who strained his side in that same one-day match against New South Wales – will also be sorely missed by the Tasmanians; he took six wickets for the match the last time the two teams met back in the Adelaide hub.

After being afforded a weekend off last week, Peter Siddle travelled to the Gold Coast. Siddle returned to Tasmania as soon as the news of the latest COVID outbreak in Brisbane surfaced, but unfortunately - despite the fact that he did not spend any time in the Greater Brisbane or Moreton Bay areas - he is now not permitted to enter Western Australia. Were the match being played in any other state, Siddle would be eligible for selection.

With Riley Meredith also unavailable to travel to Perth due to his IPL commitments, bowlers Alex Pyecroft and Lawrence Neil-Smith have been brought into the squad.

Boosting stocks of the batting group is 23-year-old Tim Ward, who will also make the trip to Perth, and, if selected in the final XI, will make both his first class and Tigers’ debuts simultaneously.  His selection comes after a run of good form at the Premier Cricket level, capped off by an unbeaten 181 for University in last weekend’s Men’s 1st Grade Final victory over North Hobart.

The 13-player squad named to face Western Australia is:

Jackson Bird
Jake Doran
Jarrod Freeman
Caleb Jewell
Lawrence Neil-Smith
Tim Paine
Alex Pyecroft
Sam Rainbird
Jordan Silk
Matthew Wade (c)
Charlie Wakim
Tim Ward
Beau Webster

The playing XI will be confirmed at the toss.

The first ball is scheduled for 10am AWST each day of play, with the game to be livestreamed on and the CA Live app.