The Prime Minister of Australia, The Hon. Scott Morrison MP, and Cricket Australia’s National Selection Panel (NSP) have announced the Prime Minister’s XI squad for its day-night, one-day match against South Africa on 31 October at Manuka Oval.

Four players in the squad – captain George Bailey, batsman Nic Maddinson, and fast bowlers Jason Behrendorff and Gurinder Sandhu – have represented Australia.

Three of the top 15 run-scorers from the JLT One-Day Cup – Edwards (273 runs), Bryant (237) and emerging keeper-batsman Josh Philippe (236) – plus equal-leading wicket taker Sandhu (18 wickets) – feature in the side.

Prime Minister’s XI

George Bailey (c) – Tasmania
Jason Behrendorff – Western Australia
Max Bryant – Queensland
Ben Dwarshuis – New South Wales
Jack Edwards – New South Wales
Nic Maddinson – Victoria
Kurtis Patterson – New South Wales
Josh Philippe – Western Australia
Usman Qadir – Western Australia
Gurinder Sandhu – Tasmania
Jason Sangha – New South Wales

12th man: Tom Engelbrecht – ACT/NSW Country

Coach: Chris Rogers

“This year’s squad is young and full of talent and on a local level, it’s also great to have some players who have a connection to the Shire involved,” said Australia's Prime Minister, The Hon. Scott Morrison MP.

“It will be a tough match, South Africa are a quality side who have had a long on-field rivalry with Australia.

“No one knows this better than George and Chris, who will no doubt have the squad ready to fire and I’m looking forward to seeing how they go.”

National Selector and National Talent Manager, Greg Chappell, said:

“The Prime Minister’s XI fixture is an important part of the Australian summer, and we look forward to seeing what this team can produce against South Africa,” Chappell said.

“It’s pleasing to have a number of players who have represented Australia, led by George Bailey, and as in recent years there’s a good blend of experienced cricketers and some of the country’s best young players.

“Gurinder Sandhu starred for Tasmania in the JLT One-Day Cup, finishing the tournament as the equal leading wicket-taker, and together with the likes of Jason Behrendorff, Ben Dwarshuis and Usman Qadir provides a bowling attack capable of challenging South Africa.”

Tickets to the Prime Minister’s XI match are on sale at

The match will be broadcast live via FOX Cricket, ABC Grandstand and live-streamed by and the CA Live App, with play to commence at 1.50pm local time on Wednesday 31 October.