In similar fashion to the beginning of the Shield season in Adelaide in October, it will be the Tigers and the Bulls that open proceedings of the second phase of this unique season, except this time the Tigers will be searching for a different result, with the Bulls winning by an innings and 59 runs in their initial encounter.

Despite Michael Neser – the Player of the Match from that October encounter – missing from the Bulls’ squad due to injury, Queenslanders have come to Tasmania with a squad where the talent runs deep.  However, with Australia’s Test tour of South Africa postponed due to the ongoing COVID-19 situation, the Tigers have been buoyed by the inclusion of Tim Paine in the side, who will take the gloves but also the captaincy in the absence of Matthew Wade. 

Wade, along with Riley Meredith and Ben McDermott, are all currently in New Zealand preparing for Australia’s T20I series against the Black Caps.  The absence of these key players – as well as the experienced Peter Siddle, who will unfortunately miss the match due to an ongoing thumb injury obtained during the KCF BBL - will give the likes of Caleb Jewell, Mac Wright and Nathan Ellis to potentially cement their spot at the first class level.

The Tigers have named a 12-player squad to face the Bulls:

Tim Paine (C)
Gabe Bell
Jackson Bird
Jake Doran
Nathan Ellis
Jarrod Freeman
Caleb Jewell
Alex Pyecroft
Jordan Silk
Charlie Wakim
Beau Webster
Mac Wright

The playing XI will be confirmed at the toss tomorrow.

The first ball is scheduled for 10.30am AEDT each day of play, with the game to be livestreamed on and the CA Live app.