Tasmanian Tigers captain, Matthew Wade, has capped a remarkable 2018-19 Summer of Cricket by claiming the Ricky Ponting Medal tonight at the Cricket Tasmania Awards at Wrest Point in Hobart.

Awarded to the finest Tigers player across the JLT One-Day Cup and JLT Sheffield Shield seasons - through match-by-match voting by Head Coach, Adam Griffith, Senior Assistant Coach, Jeff Vaughan and the 12 players named in each fixture, Wade (247 votes) won from Jackson Bird (189), Alex Doolan (152) and Ben McDermott (124).

31-year-old Wade tallied 1,021 runs at an average of 60.05 across the Sheffield Shield season - reaching eight half-centuries and two near match-winning centuries.

At the top of the order against the white ball for Tasmania, Wade accumulated 187 runs in seven matches at an average of 26.7.

He also completed 20 dismissals whilst playing as the Tigers wicketkeeper for the majority of the summer.

The stellar form Wade displayed against the red ball also won him the David Boon Medal as Tasmania's Sheffield Shield Player of the Year with 208 votes ahead of Jackson Bird (156), Alex Doolan (135) and Riley Meredith (82 votes).

The Jack Simmons Medal for Tasmania's best player in the JLT One-Day Cup was won by Gurinder Sandhu, who finished as the competition's joint leading wicket-taker in his first season in Tigers colours - including taking a hat-trick in a remarkable seven-wicket haul in the tournament Final against Victoria.

Sandhu's 18 wickets came in six matches having begun the tournament outside the Tigers' initial squad before James Faulkner was ruled out through injury.

In a record-breaking season for Tasmania's Women's team following their re-branding to Tigers from Roar, Corinne Hall took home the Tigers' WNCL Player of the Year award with 101 votes ahead of veteran left-arm quick, Veronica Pyke (84), 'keeper-bat Georgia Redmayne (80) and all-rounder Meg Phillips (66).

Hall was a pivotal player in the Tigers' run to falling just short of a first-ever WNCL Final with three half centuries in five matches, tallying 241 runs at an average of 60.25.

The Jamie Cox Young Male Player of the Year was awarded to fast bowler, Riley Meredith, who continues to emerge as a key player across red and white ball formats for Tasmania.

The 22-year-old quick also enjoyed a breakout season in the KFC Big Bash League for the Hobart Hurricanes.


14-year-old boom leg-spinning WNCL debutant, Amy Smith, was a clear choice for the Female Young Player of the Year award and will be a talent to watch for Tasmanian cricket fans for many years to come.

14-year-old Amy Smith made her #WNCL debut on Friday to become our youngest-ever List A/First-Class debutant - male or female. @RicFinlay says Amy could also be the youngest-ever debutant around Australia.

Here's her first wicket! 👏#WeAreTigers @newtownbucks pic.twitter.com/l39W3mN05Q

Tigers Women's rookie, Emma Manix-Geeves, won the National Indigenous Cricket Championships Female Player of the Year for her performance in the tournament for Victoria and Josh Barry won the male equivalent award as the Tigers won all the way to the Semi-Final stage in Alice Springs.

The high-performing Sam Nogajski took home the State Umpire of the Year in recognition of his continued rise through the officiating ranks having being in the middle at the Women's World T20 in the West Indies and in the Sheffield Shield Final this year.

The Media Awards were taken home by Chris Rowbottom from ABC News (Best Men's Story), for his story on the 40th anniversary reunion on Tasmania's 1978/79 Gillette Cup winning team, the first-ever domestic cricket title for the State.

The Best Female Story was written by Adam Smith from The Mercury, for his take on Sasha Moloney's rapid rise to the captaincy role of our Hobart Hurricanes WBBL team.

The award for Best Photo was also taken home by The Mercury and their Head of Vision, Richard Jupe, for his sensational shot of two stars from our Hobart Hurricanes BBL team, D'Arcy Short and Matthew Wade.

The photo below now adorns the lift in the Cricket Tasmania offices at Blundstone Arena.

Cricket Tasmania congratulates all of this year's award winners on their outstanding achievements throughout the 2018/19 Summer of Cricket, a list summarising all the winners is provided below.

Ricky Ponting Medal 
1. Matthew Wade 247
2. Jackson Bird 189
3. Alex Doolan 152
4. Ben McDermott 124

David Boon Medal (JLT Sheffield Shield Player of the Tournament) 
1. Matthew Wade 208
2. Jackson Bird 156
3. Alex Doolan 135
4. Riley Meredith 82

Jack Simmons Medal (JLT One-Day Cup Player of the Tournament)
1. Gurinder Sandhu 117
2. Ben McDermott 110 
3. Clive Rose 83 
4. George Bailey 60

WNCL Player of the Tournament 
1. Corinne Hall 101
2. Veronica Pyke 84 
3. Georgia Redmayne 80 
4. Meg Phillips 66

Hurricanes WBBL Player of the Tournament 
1. Heather Knight 256 
2. Smriti Mandhana 142
3. Erin Fazackerley 117
4. Brooke Hepburn 110

Hurricanes BBL Player of the Tournament 
1. D’Arcy Short                285
2. Matthew Wade          240
3. George Bailey             157
4. Jofra Archer                125

Jamie Cox Male Young Player of the Year: Riley Meredith.
Female Young Player of the Year: Amy Smith.
National Indigenous Championships Male Player of the Year: Josh Barry.
National Indigenous Championships Female Player of the Year: Emma Manix-Geeves.
State Umpire of the Year: Sam Nogajski.
Hurricanes Members’ WBBL MVP: Erin Fazackerley.
Hurricanes Members’ BBL MVP: D’Arcy Short.

Media Awards
Best Male Story: Chris Rowbottom, ABC News
Best Female Story: Adam Smith, The Mercury
Best Photo: Richard Jupe, The Mercury