The Tasmanian Tigers have named a predominantly unchanged men’s squad for the 2022-23 season, after what was a largely successful 2021-22, which saw them just miss out on the finals in both the Marsh Sheffield Shield and Marsh One-Day Cup by the narrowest of margins, finishing third in both competitions.

Twenty-seven-year-old bowler, Billy Stanlake, is the biggest name to join the Tigers contract list for season, with the 204-centimetre paceman making the move to the Apple Isle from his home state of Queensland.

Stanlake, who has represented Australia in both white ball formats of the game, has 59 wickets to his name across both first class and List A matches, and despite not playing last season due to injury, is confident that working with the staff at the Tigers program he can get back to his scintillating best.

Meanwhile young Glenorchy Cricket Club all-rounder, Nick Davis, has been selected after impressing in the Cricket Tasmania Premier Academy for the past two seasons, and representing the Tasmanian Second XI in the 2021-22 season.

Other players to have inked new details over the off-season include Tom Andrews, Sam Rainbird, Charlie Wakim and Mac Wright.

Significantly, 37-year-old veteran of Australian cricket, Peter Siddle has also signed a one-year contract extension with the Tigers, whilst young-gun, Tim Ward, has committed to the state long-term, inking a three-year deal.

Head coach of the Tasmanian Tigers male program, Jeff Vaughan, said the fact that there wasn’t the need for much list movement was a positive for the program.

“There is a good mix of senior and emerging players within the list, and on the back of a promising season 2021-22 we are excited for what’s ahead.

“With hopefully a full fixture of for both and red and white ball cricket this year, I’m really excited and confident about what this group can produce.”

Ins: Nick Davis, Billy Stanlake.

Squad: Tom Andrews, Gabe Bell, Jackson Bird, Iain Carlisle, Nick Davis, Jake Doran, Nathan Ellis, Jarrod Freeman, Brad Hope, Caleb Jewell, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Lawrence Neil-Smith, Mitch Owen, Nivethan Radhakrishnan, Sam Rainbird, Peter Siddle, Jordan Silk, Billy Stanlake, Matthew Wade, Charlie Wakim, Tim Ward, Beau Webster, Mac Wright.