Mackay in North Queensland will play host to the first week of the 2018-19 Cricket Australia Under-17 National Championships, proudly presented by Woolworths.

The tournament, to be played from 1–11 October, will see the first four rounds of matches played in Mackay and the following four rounds played in Brisbane.

Matches in Mackay will be played at the Harrup Park Complex and Magpies Cricket Club, with day-night cricket to feature at domestic Under-17 level for the first time at Harrup Park.

Cricket Australia Pathways Manager Graham Manou said:

“We’re really excited to be heading to Mackay for this summer’s Under-17 National Championships.”

“There are some great cricket facilities in the region and taking this event to a new location provides different conditions for our players to experience and adapt to.

“The opportunity to play day-night matches for the first time at Under-17 level at Harrup Park is extremely exciting.

“We’ve had fantastic support from the Mackay Regional Council, Queensland Cricket and the local cricket community, and can’t wait to showcase Australia’s next generation of stars in Mackay.”

Mackay’s Harrup Park has previously hosted matches in the Rebel Women’s Big Bash League, JLT Sheffield Shield and 2016 Quadrangular ‘A’ Series.

The Cricket Australia Under-17 National Championships are an important part of the Australian Cricket Pathway, which have featured many past and present Australian stars.

Previous winners of the Player of the Tournament Award include Australian representatives James Pattinson, Callum Ferguson and the recently retired Ed Cowan (pictured) who played 53 games for the Tasmanian Tigers from 2009-15 and played one Big Bash season for the Hobart Hurricanes in 2012-13.

Tasmania’s state team in last year’s 2017-18 Cricket Australia Under-17 National Championships was:

M.J. Owen, L. Drury, K. Applebee, S. Lewis-Johnson, *J.T. McCulloch, J. Henley, C. Oakes, W. Collins, J. Curran, B. Cassidy, C. Kuepper, F. Keeling, S. O'Mahony.