Hill confirmed he will be joining the Tigers yesterday morning with a phone call to Cricket Tasmania’s General Manager of Cricket Andrew Dykes.

Dykes says Hill will be a valuable addition to the Tigers outfit.

“Michael is a proven top order batsman and has an incredible amount of talent” said Dykes. 

“Along with Dom Michael, and Hamish Kingston, we feel Hill will strengthen our batting depth as we begin to prepare for next season.”

Hill, a former Australian U/19 captain had been a member of the Bushrangers squad for many years, making his one-day debut in 2008 and his first-class debut in 2010.

Injury and lack of opportunity in the Victorian side has kept Hill on the sidelines over the past few seasons but at just 25, Michael has a lot of good cricket in front of him.  

Cricket Tasmania can also confirm that paceman Adam Maher has not been offered a contract for 2014/15.

Andrew Dykes says the decision not to include Maher in the Tigers squad was difficult but necessary for the team going forward.

“Adam has been an important part of the Tigers for many years and I would like to thank him for his services to Tasmanian cricket.”

Maher was an integral part of the Tasmania’s winning Sheffield Shield side in 2010/11, securing the Tigers a spot in the final with an amazing 5-14 as NSW were dismissed for 74 in the first innings of Tasmania’s second last roster match.

2014-15 Tasmanian Tigers Contract List

Tasmanian Tigers

George Bailey (Cricket Australia)

Jackson Bird

Luke Butterworth

Ed Cowan

Xavier Doherty

Alex Doolan

Ben Dunk

James Faulkner (CA)

Andrew Fekete

Evan Gulbis

Ben Hilfenhaus

Michael Hill

Hamish Kingston

Dominic Michael

Tim Paine

Sam Rainbird

Clive Rose

Jordan Silk

Timm van der Gugten

Jon Wells


Gabe Bell

Ryan Lees

Beau Webster

Sean Willis


Michael Hill (Victoria)

Hamish Kingston (South Hobart-Sandy Bay)

Dominic Michael (Queensland)

Sam Rainbird (Contract upgrade)


Harry Allanby (delisted)

Aiden Blizzard (delisted)

Steve Cazzulino (delisted)

Mark Cosgrove (South Australia)

Ben Laughlin (delisted)

Adam Maher (delisted)