Cricket Tasmania would like to formally announce the Young Player of the Year award winners for the 2019/2020 season.

Jamie Cox Male Young Player of the Year

Winner: Macalister Wright

Mac Wright had an outstanding breakout season in Tasmania. He made his first-class debut for the Tigers in the Sheffield Shield and in the Marsh One Day Cup. He was called up to the Hurricanes for the KFC BBL|09 season to be in the opening mix where he did not disappoint.

Cricket Tasmania Head Coach Adam Griffith commented on how much more confidence Wright had in his batting and in himself after spending the off season in Ireland:

This season for him was a great example to all players about performance demanding selection and staying ready for your opportunity when it comes, highlighted by his 100 in the Marsh One-Day Cup and his 70 for the Hurricanes.

He was told one hour before the start of the match that he would be playing, and he put on a very impressive performance.

His ability to hit the ball cleanly and play good cricket shots has highlighted what he is capable of, and I can’t wait to see where he can get to over the next few years.”

Female Young Player of the Year

Winner: Amy Smith

Amy Smith had a fantastic season with Cricket Tasmania dominating in all aspects of her game.

She was selected in both the U15 and U18 Female Tasmanian Squads, she was also named in the Cricket Australia XI U15 Team and named as a non-travelling member for the Cricket Australia U19 Squad.

Female Pathway Head Coach, Sara McGlashan spoke of how Smith always dedicated herself to improving her craft throughout the season:

“She is always seeking advice and feedback on her game.

After seeing her hard work throughout the winter, it was no surprise that she had such a successful season. Amy has a very bright future ahead of her and is a very deserving winner of this award.”

This is Smith’s second consecutive win for the Female Young Player of the Year award after she was the recipient winner last year.