Cricket Tasmania would like to formally announce the award winners for State Umpire of the Year, Jack Simmons Medal and David Boon Medal.

Jack Simmons Medal

(Marsh One Day Cup Player of the Tournament)

Winner: Jackson Bird

Finalists: Ben McDermott, Caleb Jewell, Mac Wright

This year Jack Simmons Medal for Marsh One Day Cup Player of the Tournament has been awarded to Tassie quick Jackson Bird.

In just six games Bird took an impressing 11 wickets at an average of 20.54 with an overall economy rate of 3.83.

He displayed immaculate control throughout the tournament and his stand out performance of 6-25 off 10 overs in the 120-run win over NSW proved this was the case.

Head Coach of the Tigers One Day Cup Squad, Adam Griffith had this to say about Bird’s Tournament:

“Jackson had a very good Marsh One Day Cup for the Tigers this season, culminating his match winning performance against NSW when he took career best figures of 6/25. 

His ability to take wickets in the power play makes him a valuable member of our bowling group and set games up for us.

His consistency of execution and smart cricket brain stands him apart. 

He never lets the batter relax or feel comfortable at the crease, always challenging their defence.”

David Boon Medal:

(Marsh Sheffield Shield Player of the Tournament)

Winner: Jackson Bird

Finalists: Beau Webster, Matthew Wade, Nathan Ellis

Jackson Bird proved once again to be a clinical member of the Tigers Squad for the Marsh Sheffield Shield season.

In the opening rounds of the season he became the all-time leading wicket taker for the Tigers in Shield cricket.

He also showed his class with a 5 wicket-haul on the final day of the clash against Western Australia.

Jeff Vaughan, Head Coach of the Tigers Marsh Sheffield Shield Squad had this to say about Bird’s Shield season:

“With 28 wickets from 6 matches, Jackson had another very consistent season with the ball and lead our bowling attack very well throughout.

He has a wonderful ability to impart relentless pressure on opposition teams by bowling an excellent line and length with the ball and can adjust to all conditions.

Jackson again showed that he is a class performer at Domestic level and continues to be ready for any opportunities at International level should they arise.”


State Umpire of the Year:

Winner: Sam Nogajski

Sam topped off another very strong national and international season with a successful U19 ICC World Cup Campaign in South Africa.

He was deservedly appointed to officiate in the Final between India and Bangledesh.

He is a true professional on and off the field; he is selfless in sharing his experiences and learnings to inspire existing and potential umpires.

He shows great leadership and is well respected amongst the cricketing community.

This is a consecutive win for Nogajski after winning the award in the 2018-19 season as well.

Cricket Tasmania General Manager High Performance Simon Insley said:

“Sam Nogajski has continued to develop and show that he is leading the way for match officials in Tasmania.

Sam was acknowledged by the International Cricket Council with an appointment for the 2020 ICC U19 Cricket World Cup that was held in South Africa, with his performance being rewarded with a call up for the Final between India U19 and Bangladesh U19.

Sam continues to show that he is one of the leading umpires in Australia.”