The Guilford Young College student is a product of the Cricket Tasmania Youth Pathway System having represented Tasmania at U17 and U19 level.

He last year Captained the Tasmanian U17 team and impressed selectors to earn a call up to visit the National Cricket Centre with some of the country’s finest juniors.

He has recently returned from another visit to the NCC in March 2015, where the best U18 players in the country gathered and were split into two teams to play a two-day match and 2 One Day matches and also take part in educational sessions.

Jewell says he is extremely thrilled to have earned a Tasmanian Tigers contract and take the first step in what he hopes will be a long career for Tasmania.

“I’m really excited to be given this opportunity and be part of the Tigers set-up,” Jewell said.

“I can’t wait to get into training and learn from players who are some of the best in world cricket and have access to such quality coaches, it will be great for my game."

The 17-year old, who will juggle his cricket commitments with his final year of school, said one of the players he looks up to is club mate and fellow Tiger Jordan Silk.

“I witnessed the extras he put in early in his first season and saw the transformation into him becoming a successful First Class player in a short amount of time,” Jewell said.

Jewell’s signing comes on the back of the Tigers securing the services of 18-year old Jake Doran who is touted as ‘Australia’s most promising young player’.  Jewell and Doran were both at the NCC batting camp last season and also at the recent U18 camp.

“I've had a small amount of experience playing with Jake and he's very professional for his age.  Although he is only a year older than me I will be looking to learn plenty from him just like I will with the senior players in the squad," Jewell said.

Doran is currently playing for the Australia U19 team against England and made 169 in their 4-day match.


Tasmanian Tigers 2015-16 Squad so far:

Ben Hilfenhaus, Alex Doolan, Jake Doran, Andrew Fekete, Ben Dunk, Evan Gulbis, George Bailey, Jackson Bird, James Faulkner, Jordan Silk, Luke Butterworth, Tim Paine, Clive Rose, Xavier Doherty,  Sam Rainbird, Dom Michael, Hamish Kingston, Beau Webster.

Rookies: Caleb Jewell, Gabe Bell, Ryan Lees, Sean Willis