Ben McDermott's stellar opening to the 2018/19 season continued today with news he will captain the CA XI in a T20 warm-up match with South Africa before joining the Australian setup for their tri-series vs. India & the Proteas.

The squad for the T20 tri-series is as follows:

Aaron Finch (c) – Melbourne Renegades 
Alex Carey (vc) – Adelaide Strikers 
Ashton Agar – Perth Scorchers
Jason Behrendorff – Perth Scorchers 
Nathan Coulter-Nile – Perth Scorchers 
Chris Lynn – Brisbane Heat 
Glenn Maxwell – Melbourne Stars 
Ben McDermott – Hobart Hurricanes 
D'Arcy Short – Hobart Hurricanes 
Billy Stanlake – Adelaide Strikers 
Marcus Stoinis – Melbourne Stars 
Andrew Tye – Perth Scorchers 
Adam Zampa – Melbourne Stars

In the build up to the Gillette T20 International Series, Behrendorff, Andrew Tye and Ben McDermott have also been included in the Cricket Australia XI side which will play South Africa in a T20 tour match on November 14 at Allan Border Field in Brisbane.

McDermott will captain the CA XI team, which includes Queensland young gun Max Bryant, and experienced Victoria leg-spinner Fawad Ahmed.

The Cricket Australia XI squad is as follows:

Ben McDermott (c) – Hobart Hurricanes 
Fawad Ahmed – Sydney Thunder 
Jason Behrendorff - Perth Scorchers 
Max Bryant - Brisbane Heat 
Ben Cutting - Brisbane Heat 
Chris Green - Sydney Thunder 
Matthew Kuhnemann – No BBL contract 
Lachlan Pfeffer - No BBL contract 
Alex Ross - Brisbane Heat 
Gurinder Sandhu – Sydney Thunder 
Kelvin Smith - No BBL contract 
Andrew Tye - Perth Scorchers


Tour match – November 14 
CA XI v South Africa 
Allan Border Field, Brisbane 
2:00pm (Local Time)

Gillette T20I – November 17 
Australia v South Africa 
Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast 
6:20pm (Local Time)

Gillette T20I – November 21 
Australia v India 
The Gabba, Brisbane 
5:50pm (Local Time)

Gillette T20I – November 23 
Australia v India 
MCG, Melbourne 
6:50pm (Local Time)

Gillette T20I – November 25 
Australia v India 
SCG, Sydney 
6:50pm (Local Time)