Cricket Tasmania can reveal its contracted players list for the Tasmanian Tigers Women’s squad for 2019-20.

25-year-old all-rounder, Nicola Carey, who has six ODI caps for Australia, headlines a series of newcomers alongside fellow New South Wales talent – 21-year-old rising star fast bowler, Belinda Vakarewa, who has one Australian ODI cap and 22-year-old emerging right-arm leg spinner, Maisy Gibson.

Left-arm orthodox bowler, Samantha Bates, too moves south from the ACT having recently toured India with the Australia A squad in late 2018.

Former Tasmania wicketkeeper, Emily Smith, returns to Blundstone Arena for the first time since 2016 having played the last two seasons with Western Australia.

Nicola Carey – a member of Australia’s 2018 World T20 winning squad, was named the Player of the WNCL Final back in February as she compiled a fine half-century and took three wickets in the Breakers’ triumph over Queensland.

Her six One-Day International appearances have come since debuting vs. India in Vadodara on March 12, 2018 before earning her sole T20I cap in Mumbai just 11 days later.

“The fact we’re able to attract and retain some of the best young talent in Australia is a huge testament to the direction our Female Program is moving,” said Tigers Women’s Head Coach, Salliann Briggs.

“Our local players began training last week and over the next fortnight our new signings will have moved down to join the squad and we’ll prepare for an exciting year as a group.”

There are four departures from last year’s squad, including 2018-19 WNCL Player of the Year, Georgia Redmayne – who leaves to pursue opportunities closer to her medical studies interstate,  and veteran left-arm quick, Veronica Pyke.

Celeste Raack has moved to Ireland to continue her career abroad having featured at the World T20 for the Irish last year in the Caribbean and 20-year-old opening bat, Ashley Day, moves to Western Australia.

Cricket Tasmania thanks the outgoing players for their hard work and dedication and wishes them the best for their future.

The 2019-20 WNCL fixture will be released by Cricket Australia in the coming weeks.

2019-20 Tasmanian Tigers Women's Squad

Sam Bates
Nicola Carey (Contracted by Cricket Australia)
Stef Daffara
Erin Fazackerley
Katelyn Fryett
Maisy Gibson
Corinne Hall
Brooke Hepburn
Emma Mannix-Geeves
Sasha Moloney
Meg Phillips
Emily Smith
Emma Thompson
Belinda Vakarewa
Courtney Webb

New Players

Sam Bates
Nicola Carey
Maisy Gibson
Emily Smith
Belinda Vakarewa

Outgoing Players

Ashley Day
Veronica Pyke
Celeste Raack
Georgia Redmayne