National Volunteer Week for 2019 is fast approaching and between Sunday 19 - 26 May, Cricket Australia will recognise the efforts of all volunteers nationwide who have played a pivotal role in the delivery and success of Cricket throughout the summer.

National awards are announced for 12 categories following nominations from around the country. In 2018, Tasmania featured four finalists - including the overall winner of Volunteer of the Year award, Jason Schmidt.

Cricket Tasmania extends a congratulations and thank you to each of its nominees for this year listed below. Stay tuned to our website and social media throughout the coming weeks as we shed light on the brilliant work each of our winners have undertaken.

St. Anne's Cricket Club - Community Cricket Club of the Year
This award recognised a community cricket club that exemplifies cricket’s vision as a sport for all Australians. They actively create welcoming and inclusive environments through good governance, dedicated volunteers and a commitment to engaging with people from all walks of life.

Western Tasmanian Cricket Association - Cricket Association of the Year 
This award acknowledges a cricket association that reaches deep into their community to engage and retain volunteers and provide opportunities for every Australian to have the chance to play cricket.

Clarence District Cricket Club - Premier Cricket Club of the Year 
This award seeks to recognise a Premier Cricket Club that excelled at being the conduit between high performance and community. A Club that is a beacon in the community for talented cricketers, no matter their gender or background.

Southern Cricket Association Women's Competition - Initiative of the Year 
This award looks broadly at community based programs, activities or actions that have found clever ways to engage underrepresented community groups in cricket. Be that as a participant, official, volunteer, administrator or fan.  

South Hobart-Sandy Bay Cricket Club - Junior Cricket Program of the Year 
This award acknowledges outstanding delivery of introductory experiences that give juniors the best possible entry into cricket. Experiences that are fun, social, educational and team-focused.

Burnie City Council - Partner Organisation of the Year 
This award recognises a stakeholder that has provided significant support to ensure all Australians, no matter their gender or background, have the chance to get involved in cricket.

Shoobridge Park (Glenorchy City Council & Glenorchy Cricket Club) - Community Facility Project of the Year 
This award acknowledges a club, organisation or local government authority that has developed, or redeveloped, a community cricket facility to enable increased use by underrepresented groups in the community and an enhanced experience for all. (Nominations for this category are sought from cricket clubs and local government authorities).

Susan Underwood (Devonport Cricket Club) - Ambassador of the Year
This award recognises everyday people who have made a significant impact as ambassadors of cricket in the community. They have achieved outstanding results encouraging participation in their club, school and/or community.

Charles Rose (University of Tasmania Cricket Club) - Volunteer of the Year 
This award celebrates a member of the community who made an exceptional contribution to improving the game and supporting others to become actively involved in cricket community. (We welcome nominations from all forms of cricket).

Paul Guinane (North Hobart Cricket Club) - Junior Cricket Champion of the Year 
This award recognises someone who has made a big impact by making sure that every experience is fun, social, educational and inclusive for kids and parents alike.

Gilbert van der Steege - Community Match Official of the Year 
This award acknowledges a match official who has led by example and championed inclusive, safe, fair and enjoyable cricket for all.