The Tasmanian Tigers will play their first Bupa Sheffield Shield match at Bankstown Oval from next Wednesday against the New South Wales Blues who have already started the 2012-13 interstate cricket season, currently playing Western Australia in a four-day clash.

Tasmanian selectors have named a 13-man squad to leave for New South Wales on Sunday which includes Tigers recruit Aiden Blizzard who is set to make his official debut in Tasmanian colours and rookie Sam Rainbird who will make his first-class debut if selected in the final eleven.  

The last Bupa Sheffield Shield match the Tigers played was in the Final at the Gabba, and while there have been various changes to the team that played back in March, the Tigers will go into 2012-13 looking for a fresh start and again striving for the ultimate in interstate cricket silverware, the Sheffield Shield.

With three Tigers currently on national duties, including captain George Bailey, Tigers’ Vice-Captain Tim Paine will captain the side and make his long awaited come back with the Tigers after being sidelined due to his finger injury.

Cricket Tasmania Chairman of Selectors Michael Farrell said he is confident that the squad selected for the first fixture is extremely well balanced.

"All players have had strong pre-seasons, and they are looking forward to the challenge of playing New South Wales in our first game of the year,” Farrell said.

Hobart Hurricanes’ bowler Ben Laughlin has been named in the 13, and alongside Hurricanes’ batsman Jon Wells, has been added to the full squad as a non-contracted player effective immediately.

New South Wales v Tasmanian Tigers
Wednesday 26th September – Saturday 29th September

Tim Paine (c)
Aiden Blizzard
Jackson Bird
Luke Butterworth
Mark Cosgrove
Ed Cowan
Alex Doolan
James Faulkner
Jason Krejza
Ben Laughlin
Adam Maher
Ricky Ponting
Sam Rainbird

Coach:  Tim Coyle
Assistant Coach:  Michael Di Venuto