Cricket Australia promises that the NICL will be a fast, fun and exciting competition.

Matches will be played weekly in each of the respective states from April/May, through until the NICL Final Series in September.

The Tasmanian competition will consist of four sides from Tasmania’s two major Indoor Cricket Centres, in High Performance Cricket Tasmania (Kingston) and Action Indoor Sports Centre (Eastern Shore). The winner of the nine game roster will represent Tasmania in the finals in Melbourne.

Cricket Tasmania’s General Manager of Game and Market Development, Ben Smith said we have nearly 4000 people playing indoor cricket in the state and this competition is a great initiative to further improve those numbers. 

Head Coach of High Performance Cricket Tasmania, Mark Divin said its important to raise the awareness and profile of indoor cricket.

“The flow on effect of the increase in participation of indoor cricket will hopefully see improvements in the transferable skills in our young cricketers between both the indoor and outdoor format of the game in Tasmania.” Divin said.

The men’s divisions will include: ACT, NSW Metro, NSW Country, North Queensland, South-East Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria East, Victoria West and Western Australia.

Tasmania will not field a womens team this year, however will be represented by the following teams/states: New South Wales, South Australia, South-East Queensland, Victoria East, Victoria West and Western Australia.