The captain and vice-captain of the Tasmanian Roar has been appointed for the 2017/18 season.

Brooke Hepburn will lead the side and Corinne Hall will be vice-captain.

Hepburn said she was thrilled to be given the opportunity to take on the captaincy this season.

"I'm honoured and really excited about the opportunity to captain the Roar this season. I think we have a great mix of experience and younger players in the squad this year who I am looking forward to playing alongside," she said. 

"We have had a fantastic preparation in the pre-season and take confidence out of some great team and individual performances in the 2016/17 WNCL season. 

“I believe we are in a great position to perform strongly in this year’s competition."

Hepburn was a standout performer with the ball for the Roar in the WNCL last season, capturing 13 wickets in six games – including a haul of 5-39 against South Australia.

Hall played three matches last year for a return of 64 runs, with a score of 47 against Victoria the highlight.

“It's always a privilege to be asked to fill a leadership role and my main focus this season will be to be a reliable, enthusiastic supporter of Brooke,” Hall said.

“Her style of captaincy is perfect for our current group and I have no doubt that she will do a stellar job of leading the Roar this season.”

Hall said the feeling around the squad was extremely positive, having recently returned from a pre-season camp on the Sunshine Coast which allowed the players to train on turf wickets and take part in practice matches against South Australia.

“We have a good balance of players who have started to grow into their own games and perform more consistently, which is a goal of ours,” she said.

“We have some new faces amongst our squad this year which has brought a real energy to our pre-season training sessions, so there is an exciting buzz around the group leading into the season.”


Tasmanian Roar 2017/18 Squad

Brooke Hepburn (C), Corinne Hall (VC), Emily Divin, Stefanie Daffara, Erin Fazackerley, Katelyn Fryett, Isobel Joyce, Meg Phillips, Veronica Pyke, Celeste Raack, Georgia Redmayne, Courtney Webb, Laura Wright