Hosted by ABC commentator Alister Nicholson the start of the night took the audience back 10 years to when Tasmania won the Pura Cup with the spine tingling commentary playing over some emotion-filled images in a darkened room which saw the historic Pura Cup in a spotlight and the final scorecard from the 23rd of March 2007 lit up on the Blundstone Arena scoreboard.

The evening recognised the year and achievements throughout the 2016-17 season with the player who polls the most votes across both the BBQ Matador Cup and Sheffield Shield crowned the Ricky Ponting Medallist of the year as well as the Tasmanian Roar WNCL Player of the year revealed.

Tasmanian Tigers’ batsman Alex Doolan took out the top honours with Captain George Bailey his runner-up closely followed by Simon Milenko.

A surprised Doolan said he was not expecting the award but was honoured to be added to the prestigious list of past winners.

“it’s a great feeling and while individual recognition is great, cricket is a team game first and foremost and we want to get the team back to playing some really good cricket.  As a senior player it is my responsibility to be leading that,” he said.

Tasmanian Roar recruit Georgia Redmayne took the gold for her stellar WNCL season, however couldn’t attend the night due to selection in the Australian Shooting Stars currently in Sri Lanka.

Doolan also claimed the Matador Cup Player of the Year Award (Jack Simmons Medal) while it was Tasmanian Captain George Bailey who dominated in the Sheffield Shield competition and was awarded the David Boon Medal.

The night saw some extra celebrations this season as Cricket Tasmania paid tribute to and reminisced over the first ever Pura Cup title that was won 10 years ago, with the majority of that victorious team in the room to re-live what was a special moment in Tasmanian sporting history.

With a stand and medal named in his honour as well as an impressive statue at the ground, the Great Ricky Ponting and his wife Rianna also attended the evening, with Ricky presenting his medal and once again voicing his passion for Tasmanian cricket.

In a year of some significant change Cricket Tasmania farewelled and congratulated Chief Executive David Johnston after over 19 years in the top job, farewelled Julie Hunter who announced her retirement at the conclusion of the WBBL season and paid tribute to Tasmanian spinner Xavier Doherty who has had an outstanding career and made a significant contribution to Tasmanian and Australian Cricket over 15 seasons.

The player milestones for the 2016-17 season were acknowledged to an applause before Cricket Tasmania Board Director Jo Bailey made a special presentation to inaugural 60 year Members Peter Murfett and Don Mills for their significant service.

Benaud Spirit of Cricket Award – Tasmanian Tigers & Tasmanian Roar

State Umpire of the Year Award – Sam Nogajski

National Indigenous Cricket Championships Player of the Year Award – Rhys Ward

Cricket Tasmania Community Champion Award – Jake Doran

Female Young Player of the Year Award – Georgia Redmayne

Male Young Player of the Year Award – Ben McDermott

Chairman’s Award – Ben McDermott

Scott Mason Memorial Captain’s Award – Tim Paine

Jack Simmons (Matador One-Day Cup Player of the Year) – Alex Doolan

WNCL Player of the Year – Georgia Redmayne

WBBL Hobart Hurricanes Player of the Year – Amy Satterthwaite

BBL Hobart Hurricanes Player of the Year – Stuart Broad

Hobart Hurricanes Members’ MVP (BBL) – Tim Paine

Hobart Hurricanes Members’ MVP (WBBL) – Hayley Matthews

David Boon Medal for the Sheffield Shield Player of the Year  - George Bailey

Ricky Ponting Medal – Alex Doolan