The Tasmanian Under 17 side has put the finishing touches on preparations for their Cricket Australia National Championship campaign at Blundstone Arena today.

Flying out to the Sunshine Coast tomorrow, the group was under the close watch of coaches Shannon Tubb, Richard Allanby and former Tasmanian Tiger Xavier Doherty.

Doherty said the group was in a good space prior to the competition getting underway, with the first ball to be bowled on Monday.

“I think the boys are in pretty good nick. It’s tough at this time of year given they haven’t played a lot of matches, so that’s probably one of the main challenges we’ve tried to overcome along the way,” he said.

“We’ll have a couple of good hits over the weekend (on the Sunshine Coast) to make sure they’re ready to go.”

Although the team is aiming to win as many matches during the tournament as possible, Doherty said the development of players at underage level was just as important.

“Everyone wants to win, but it’s as much about how you play and ensuring that our players are always learning. Making mistakes is okay, so long as we learn from those mistakes – that’s the really important part of it.”

Although he’s just beginning to get a taste of coaching, Doherty said it felt like a natural progression.

“It’s a pretty natural progression for me. I’ve always loved playing the game and learning as much as I can,” he said.

“I’m not sure what the future holds in terms of coaching, but I’m really looking forward to these two weeks with the Under 17 squad.”

The Tasmanian Under 17 side begins their National Championship campaign against NSW Metro in Maroochydore on Monday.


Tasmania Under 17 squad

Kade APPLEBEE – Glenorchy Cricket Club 

Blake CASSIDY – Launceston Cricket Club 

William COLLINS – North Hobart Cricket Club 

James CURRAN – Launceston Cricket Club 

Lewis DRURY – North Hobart Cricket Club

Joshua HENLEY – Kingborough Cricket Club

Fletcher KEELING – New Town Cricket Club

Caedance KUEPPER – South Hobart/Sandy Bay Cricket Club

Samuel LEWIS-JOHNSON – North Hobart Cricket Club 

Jack MCCULLOCH – Burnie Hurricanes Cricket Club

Caleb OAKES – South Hobart/Sandy Bay Cricket Club

Samuel O’MAHONY – Devonport Cricket Club

Mitchell OWEN – Kingborough Cricket Club


Match Details (all one-day matches – 50 overs per team)

Mon Sept 25  vs. NSW Metro – Ron McMullen Oval, Maroochydore 9.30am start 

Tue Sept 26  vs. CA XI  – John Blank Oval, Maroochydore 9.30am start 

Thu Sept 28  vs. South Australia – Caloundra 1, 9.30am start 

Fri Sept 29  vs. Vic Metro – Landsborough Oval, 9.30am start 

Sun Oct 1  vs. ACT/NSW Country – Ian Healy Oval, Northern Suburbs, 9.30am start 

Mon Oct 2  Finals   TBA     9.30am start

Wed Oct 4  Finals   TBA     9.30am start

Thu Oct 5  Finals   TBA     9.30am start