Cricket Australia provided Cricket Tasmania the reins due its history of hosting successful underage championships. Tasmanian grounds also hold similar playing conditions to that of New Zealand, where the 2018 ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup will be played.

Chris Garrett, Manager of Cricket Operations at Cricket Tasmania said it is another great opportunity to host international cricket.

‘It is a bonus for our players to have one extra match at the end of the season and in a quality opposition in Sri Lanka. It is certainly an additional bonus in hosting the series.” Garrett said.

Whilst no Tasmanians were selected in the 15-man Australian squad, a Tasmanian invitational XI has been named to play a three-day practice match against the Sir Lankan team from 2nd – 4th April at Queenborough Oval. The invitational squad will be a similar group of players that will travel to Sri Lanka later in the year for a pathways tour.

Captain of the Tasmanian XI Fletcher Seymour said they will probably be very talented young players, so as a smaller state to take on a big country like Sri Lanka is going to be a good challenge for us.

“They will be playing in foreign conditions, therefore if we knuckle down and do that basics well I think it will be a good competition” Seymour said.

The opportunity for Cricket Tasmania to build relationships with cricketing bodies around the world is very beneficial to Cricket Tasmania as a playing team and organisation, and will assist in providing young Tasmanian cricketers the chance to be involved in overseas youth pathway tours and experiences.

The last time Cricket Tasmania hosted the U’19 series was in 2009.

Fletcher Seymour (C), Liam Devlin, Jason Freeman, Mackenzie Harvey (VIC), Dylan Hay, Brodie Hayes, Corey Murfet, Keegan Oates, James Odgers, Jason Ralston (NSW/ACT), Shaun Redman, Mac Wright

Coach: Shannon Tubb

Max Bryant (QLD), Jack Edwards (NSW), Zak Evans (VIC), Ryan Hackney (NSW), Ryan Hadley (NSW), Lewin Maladay (NSW/ACT), Jonathan Merlo (VIC), Mitchell Perry (VIC), Lloyd Pope (SA), Jason Sangha (NSW), Matthew Spoors (WA), Will Sutherland (VIC), Param Uppal (NSW), Austin Waugh (NSW), Harrison Wood (QLD)

Coach: Matthew Elliott
Assistant Coach: Ryan Harris

Sri Lanka:
Kamindu Mendis (C), Vishva Chathuranga (WK), Ashen Bandara, Lasith Croospulle, Nipun Sumanasinghe, Ayana Siriwardena, Hasitha Boyagoda , Krishan Sanjula , Jehan Daniel, Nipun Malinga, Thisaru Rashmika, Nipun Ransika, Thilan Prashan, Praveen Jayawickrama, Hareen Buddhila

Coach: Roy Dias

Australia U19s v Sri Lanka U19s Fixture

8 April – 10 April: Three-Day Match

13 April: 1st One-Day Match

15 April: 2nd One-Day Match

18 April: 3rd One-Day Match

21 April: 4th One-Day Match

23 April: 5th One-Day Match